Indonesia expands list of eligible countries for visa-on-arrival

Nationals from 60 different countries can now get a visa-on-arrival at Batam, Bintan, Bali, Jakarta and other selected points of entry.

Indonesia has expanded its visa-on-arrival facility to travellers from 18 additional countries, bringing the total number of eligible countries to 60. All but two (Hong Kong and Timor-Leste) of the new additions are from Europe. 

As before, Singaporeans and nationals of other ASEAN countries are exempt from the visa requirement, though they will need to pay for a visa-on-arrival if they wish to stay beyond 30 days.

Indonesia’s expanded visa-on-arrival list

Bali International Airport

Passport holders from the following countries are now eligible for a visa-on-arrival. 

🇮🇩 Bali: Eligible Visa-on-Arrival Countries
  • Argentina
  • (new) Austria
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Brunei*
  • (new) Bulgaria
  • Cambodia*
  • Canada
  • China
  • (new) Croatia
  • (new) Cyprus
  • (new) Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • (new) Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • (new) Greece
  • (new) Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • India
  • (new) Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Laos*
  • (new) Latvia
  • (new) Lithuania
  • (new) Luxembourg
  • Malaysia*
  • (new) Malta
  • Mexico
  • Myanmar*
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Philippines*
  • Poland
  • (new) Portugal
  • Qatar
  • (new) Romania
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore*
  • (new) Slovakia
  • (new) Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand*
  • (new) Timor-Leste
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Vietnam*
*Exempt from visa requirement, but must purchase visa-on-arrival if intending to stay >30 days

A visa-on-arrival is only available to those entering through the following air, sea and land posts/ports.

Entering By Ports/Posts
  • Batam Airport (BTH)
  • Jakarta Airport (CGK)
  • Bali (Denpasar) Airport (DPS)
  • Lombok Airport (LOP)
  • Medan Airport (KNO)
  • Manado Airport (MDC)
  • Surabaya Airport (SUB)
  • Makassar Airport (UPG)
  • Yogyakarta Airport (YOG)
  • Nongsa Terminal Bahari
  • Batam Centre
  • Sekupang
  • Citra Tri Tunas
  • Marina Teluk Senimb
  • Bandar Bentan Telani Lago
  • Bandar Seri Udana Lobam
  • Sri Bintan Pura
  • Dumai
  • Tanjung Balai Karimun
  • Benoa
  • Entikong
  • Aruk
  • Mota’in
  • Tunon Taka

A visa-on-arrival costs IDR 500,000 and is valid for 30 days, with the option to extend it for a further 30 days for IDR 800,000.

Payment is collected on-arrival at the airport via cash or card. Although other currencies are accepted, the conversion rates (at least when I entered via Bali in early April) left a lot to be desired. My advice would be to pay in IDR.

Price of visa-on-arrival in different currencies
Currency Amount Charged Mark-up
US Dollars US$38 9%
Singapore Dollars S$53 12%
Hong Kong Dollar HKD334 23%
Euro €34 8%
Japanese Yen JPY4,400 3%
Pound Sterling £29 9%
Saudi Arabia Riyal SAR152 16%
Australian Dollar A$53 14%
Thai Baht THB1,620 39%
Canadian Dollar CAD49 12%
Swiss Franc CHF34 6%
Korean Won KRW63,000 48%
Malaysian Ringgit MYR167 14%
Chinese Yuan CNY278 26%

If your nationality is not eligible for a visa-on-arrival, you will need to apply for a visit visa (B211A). This is valid for 60 days, and visas issued from 16 April 2022 cannot be extended.

Who is exempt from the visa requirement?

ASEAN nationals are exempt from the visa requirement, and may enter for a maximum stay of 30 days (non-extendable).

ASEAN Countries
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

However, if their plan is to stay beyond 30 days, they will need to purchase a visa-on-arrival under the same conditions mentioned previously. This will be valid for 30 days initially, with the option to extend it for a further 30 days.

APEC Business Travel Card holders with Indonesia listed on the back are exempt from the visa requirement too. 

Travel process to Bali

As a reminder, here’s the current list of requirements for travellers to Bali.

✈️ Checklist for Travel to Bali
  • Fully vaccinated with any approved vaccine (exemption for children aged under 18)
    • Booster not required
  • Download PeduliLindungi app (Android | iOS) and complete profile
  • Take PCR test 48h before flight (regardless of age)*
  • Purchase travel insurance with min. US$25K COVID-19 medical coverage
  • Complete e-CD form within 2 days before arrival
  • Book hotel for entire duration of trip
  • Arrange on-arrival transport (optional)
  • Pay for visa-on-arrival (or obtain B211A visit visa beforehand; not required for APEC cardholders or ASEAN nationals)
*Not required for travellers who have recovered from COVID-19 within 30 days of departure and have a doctor’s letter or COVID-19 recovery certificate. However, they will need to take a PCR test on arrival

International travellers are no longer required to complete the e-HAC on the PeduliLindungi app, and recently recovered travellers are not required to take a pre-departure test (though they will have to take a PCR test on arrival, which sort of defeats the purpose!).

On arrival in Bali, there’s no need for quarantine or testing (unless you’re a recently recovered traveller, see previous paragraph). Once luggage is collected and customs are cleared, you have complete freedom of movement. 


Indonesia now offers a visa-on-arrival to nationals from 60 countries, with Singapore and other ASEAN passport holders also eligible for visa-free entry.

This expands the number of travellers who can enter holiday destinations like Bintan and Bali relatively frictionlessly- though the real leap forward will happen when pre-departure testing is scrapped (or at the very least, downgraded to antigen testing).

Aaron Wong
Aaron Wong
Aaron founded The Milelion to help people travel better for less and impress chiobu. He was 50% successful.

Similar Articles



Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Indonesia should definitely scrap pre departure PCR test requirements for those who had booster vaccine shot. It’s a hassle


Hi, the B211A business visa is longer extendable since 16 April 2022

See the pop up


New rules!
Now 211 can be extended twice, each for another 60 days(max 180 days)

On arrival extension is 500.000

Mark Lim

The e-CD form is only for the Bali region. Those going to other regions, such as Jakarta, will need to fill up a paper form.

PeduliLindungi check-in is still enforced at pretty much every mall in Jakarta, so those coming here may wish to import their vaccination status into the app.


Wish the government can scrap all the hassle for those already 3 vaccine, so that i can daily commute from batam to sg because my family residing at batam

Orestis Evan

Hi Aaron, Thanks a lot for your posts! Extremely useful! I have a question which is confusing me: does Bali have different visa entry requirements than the rest of Indonesia? Are they operating as autonomous Island with their own rules? Or same requirements on visa on arrival aply to both Jakarra and Bali for example?

Thank you